Hazen Lab Masthead
Lab Director

Dr. Terry C. Hazen
UT/ORNL Governor's Chair Professor

Dept. of Civil & Environmental Engineering
Dept. of Microbiology
Dept. of Earth and Planetary Sciences
Director, Institute for a Secure & Sustainable Environment
Genome Science and Technology
Center for Environmental Biotechnology
Bredesen Center

The University of Tennessee
Office: 676 Dabney Hall
Office: 507 SERF
Lab: 729 SERF
Knoxville, Tennessee 37996-1605
Cell: 707-631-6763
Phone: 865-974-7709
E-mail: tchazen@utk.edu

Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Office: 327 JIBS
Lab: 316 JIBS

Staff

Terry C. Hazen

UT/ORNL Governor's Chair Professor

 

RESEARCH ASSOCIATE

Dominique C. Joyner

  • Research Associate III, UTK (Hazen lab manager)
  • Phone: UTK: 865-974-7658 Cell: 510-417-1623 ORNL: 865-241-4187
  • Office: 509C SERF
  • email: dcjoyner@utk.edu
  • CV
  • Education:
  •  

    GRADUATE STUDENTS

     

    J. Izaak Miller

  • Ph. D. Student in Bredsen Center for Interdisciplinary Research and Graduate Education
  • Phone: 323-205-6466
  • Office: 509 SERF
  • email: jmill165@utk.edu
  • CV
  • Education:
  •  

    Charlie Paradis

  • Ph. D. Student in Earth and Planetary Sciences
  • Phone: 510-860-2483
  • Office: 509 SERF
  • email: cparadis@utk.edu
  • CV
  • Education:
  •  

    Maria Fernanda Campa Ayala (Mafer) (co-advisor Dr. Amy Wolf, ORNL)

  • Ph. D. Student in Bredsen Center for Interdisciplinary Research and Graduate Education
  • Phone: 434-466-4103
  • Office: 509 SERF and 426 Greve Hall
  • email: mcampa@utk.edu
  • CV
  • Education:
  •  

    Ann-Marie Harik

  • Ph. D. Student in Environmental Engineering
  • Phone: 859-396-1409
  • Office: 509 SERF
  • email: ann.marie.harik@gmail.com
  • CV
  • Education:
  •  

     

    Benjamin Adams

  • M.S. student in Earth and Planetary Sciences
  • Phone: (520) 508-7521
  • Office: 509 SERF
  • email: badams29@utk.edu
  • CV
  • Education:
    • Bachelor of Science in Geology, University of Tennessee, Knoxville

     

     

    Katie Fitzgerald

  • Ph. D. Student in Bredsen Center for Interdisciplinary Research and Graduate EducationL
  • Phone: 615-427-8531
  • Office: 509 SERF
  • email: kfitzge4@utk.edu
  • CV
  • Education:
    • BS in Microbiology, University of Tennessee, Knoxville

     

    Kathyrn McBride

  • M.S. student in Microbiology
  • Phone: 865-456-1487
  • Office: 509 SERF
  • email: Kmcbri12@vols.utk.edu
  • CV
  • Education:
    • B.S. in Microbiology, University of Tennessee, Knoxville

     

     

    Andrew Putt

  • Ph.D. student in Earth and Planetary Sciences
  • Phone: 717-715-7547
  • Office: 509 SERF and 617 Strong Hall
  • email: aputt@vols.utk.edu
  • CV
  • Education:
    • B.S. in Environmental Biology, Mansfield University of Pennsylvania
    • B.S. in Watershed Management Geosciences, Mansfield University of Pennsylvania

     

     

    Saad Abd Ar Rafie

  • Ph.D. student in Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Phone: (865) 308-9570
  • Office: 509 SERF
  • email: srafie@vols.utk.edu
  • CV
  • Education:
    • B.S. in Civil Engineering, Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology, Dhaka, Bangladesh

     

     

     

    UNDERGRADUATE STUDENT ASSISTANTS

     

     

    Eriko Gordon

  • Honors Program in Microbiology
  • Phone: 865-206-5032
  • Office: 509 SERF
  • email: egordon7@vols.utk.edu
  • CV
  • Education:
    • University of Tennessee, Knoxville Freshman

     

     

    Emma Dixon

  • Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Phone: 615-681-0720
  • Office: 509 SERF
  • email: edixon7@vols.utk.edu
  • CV
  • Education:
    • University of Tennessee, Knoxville Senior